The severity of penalties you will face jumps up significantly for a third offense DWI in New Jersey that takes place within ten years of your second offense DWI conviction. If convicted of a third DUI, you will lose your driver’s license for 10 years and unlike for a first offense DWI in New Jersey, the judge will not have any discretion to lower your suspension period. Moreover, the 6 months of county jail is mandatory and the judge cannot convert the incarceration to IDRC such as the jail time for second offense DWI. However, up to 90 days of the 6 month county jail sentence can be served in an inpatient facility as authorized by the court. A simplified list of the penalties for a 3rd offense DWI in New Jersey can be found below for your reading convenience.
- 10 years of license suspension
- 180 days of jail time
- A maximum of 90 days of community service
- 12 – 48 hrs Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- $4,500 in automobile insurance surcharges over a 3-year period
- Minimum $1,000 fine
- An ignition interlock device
* Note: This does not include additional fees that you can incur from installation of the ignition interlock device and mandatory assessments for Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund, Neighborhood Services Fund, and IDRC fees.
It is important to note that the penalties you will face for a fourth or fifth offense DWI in New Jersey will not increase past the penalties listed above. For each subsequent offense you will still face a 10 year license suspension and 6 months in county jail. If you or a loved one is facing a third or subsequent DWI offense it is important that you contact an experienced New Jersey DUI defense attorney who can explain your rights and options. At the Law Offices of The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall, our defense lawyers have successfully dismissed third offense DWI charges against our clients throughout New Jersey. Contact our office now to speak with one of our lawyers today at 877-450-8301.